Minnesota Book Artist Award

The Minnesota Book Artist Award

My Mighty Journey, the winning work from 2020

This annual award, presented by Minnesota Center for Book Arts (MCBA) and the Minnesota Book Awards, and sponsored by Lerner Publishing Group, recognizes a Minnesota book artist or collaborative group for excellence in new artistic work, depth of knowledge and quality in the book arts through supporting previous work, as well as significant contributions to Minnesota’s book arts community.

Eligible works will include those created in both 2020 and 2021. Judging will take place in the first two weeks of November and the awardee will be notified in December. The winning work will be on view in an exhibition in our Main Gallery from January 13, 2022–March 6, 2022!

The deadline to submit your work to the 2022 Minnesota Book Artist Award is November 1, 2021.

Previous Minnesota Book Artist Award Recipients

The Team Behind My Mighty Journey (2020)
Jody Williams (2019)
Erica Spitzer Rasmussen (2018)
Steven McCarthy (2017)
Wendy Fernstrum(2016)
Harriet Bart, Philip Gallo, and Jill Jevne (2015)
Fred Hagstrom (2014)
Jana Pullman (2013)
Bridget O’Malley and Amanda Degener of Cave Paper (2012)
Regula Russelle (2011)
Wilber H. “Chip” Schilling (2010)
Paulette Myers-Rich (2009)
Jody Williams (2008)

About the Minnesota Book Awards

Created in 1988, The Minnesota Book Awards is a statewide, year-round outreach program of The Friends of the Saint Paul Public Library in partnership with the Saint Paul Public Library and City of Saint Paul. For more information about the Minnesota Book Artist Award, visit the Friends of the St. Paul Public Library’s website or call 651-366-6497.